on a sad evening

though i flounder and fret
at rejected invites
and ignored smiles,
laughter through the wall
that taunts and teases
with its happy lining
existing
out of reach

though my eyes search
like high beams
for those who can climb aboard,
hold my hand
and live for me
when i fail to do so –

when i rest my head,
they cannot watch my dreams
as i do.

though i sit on a tightrope
suspended over an empty room

perhaps the producers
will fill it with books,
if i ask them nicely

6 thoughts on “on a sad evening

Leave a Reply

