Something Bigger

“He also made the stars.” Genesis 1:16

This is only going to be a short one – but something I’ve been needing to tell myself for a while.

This week, I got my results back from one of the first essays I’ve submitted this year, and it’s safe to say I was not happy with my mark. For various reasons, I’d missed the point on several occasions and despite working pretty hard on it, hadn’t managed to achieve the grade I hoped for. And I got very upset about it. Like, tears and shit. Ask me then, I could have given you a thousand reasons why I was so upset – but ask me now, and I’m over it. The reason being there are SO many more things going on in the world that matter INFINITELY more than my university grades.

My boyfriend and I went to see Bridge of Spies, the new Tom Hanks film – and it was a real eye opener, to say the least. Tom Hanks plays an insurance lawyer in the Cold War, who is given the task of defending an alleged Soviet spy. He has to negotiate a deal with the Soviets, in order to return the spy to his home country in exchange for two American hostages. Now THAT is something to worry about. Not only was he responsible for keeping some element of peace between the two nations, but he had to put his career, his family and his reputation on the line. It’s that selfless nature that drew me to his story, the fact that he would put it all aside in order to take on this task, and remains calm throughout, knowing that there are bigger things than this, trusting in his own skill and capability and not using violence to achieve what he wants.

We came out of the cinema with endless praise for the film, truly one of the best I’ve seen in a very long time. Go see it.

Bridge of Spies TRAILER

Leave a Reply

